Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News & Press: Press Releases

13th Annual Golden Crown Literary Award Winners Announced

Monday, July 10, 2017  
Share |


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:Monday, July 10, 2017
Contact:Carleen Spry, Director of Outreach and Awards Liaison

13th Annual Golden Crown Literary Award Winners Announced

Awards were presented on July 8, 2017 at the Annual Conference in Rosemont, IL

Rosemont, IL – Winners of the 13th Annual Golden Crown Literary Awards have been announced. These awards, also known as “The Goldies,” are presented each year at the Annual GCLS Conference to recognize excellence in Lesbian Literature. The finalists were selected from 419 submissions.More than 70 judges spent a tremendous amount of time over a 6 month period reading and evaluating the submissions in order to select the finalists.

The Goldies were first presented in 2005 in 4 categories.At present, the GCLS recognizes excellence in 14 genre categories and 5 special categories, which include the Trailblazer Award and the Lee Lynch Classic Award.Every year, the Board of Directors receives new category proposals for their consideration. The world of Lesbian Fiction is growing - and the GCLS is growing right along with it. The winners were announced during the Awards Ceremony on Saturday, July 8, 2017 at the 13th Annual GCLS Conference.

The 13th Annual GCLS Conference was held at the Crowne Plaza O'Hare Hotel and Convention Center from July 5 through July 9, 2017.

For more information about the Golden Crown Literary Society, membership benefits, educational programs, or sponsorship opportunities, please visit our website ( or contact Executive Director Mary Phillips at

2017Annual Golden Crown Literary Award Winners

Ann Bannon Popular Choice
Title Author Publisher
Rainbow Gap Lee Lynch Bold Strokes Books

Anthology/Collections (Creative Non-Fiction)
Title Author Publisher
Lesbian Decadence: Representations in Art and Literature of Fin-de-Siècle France Nicole G. Albert Harrington Park Press

Anthology/Collections (Fiction)
Title Author Publisher
Finding Ms. Write Jae and Jove Belle (eds.) Ylva Publishing
Tales from Sea Glass Inn Karis Walsh Bold Strokes Books
Women of the Year Karen Richard Bedazzled Ink Publishing, LLC

Creative Non-Fiction
Title Author Publisher
Indomitable: The Life of Barbara Grier Joanne Passet Bella Books

Debut Author
Title Author Publisher
Four Step Wendy Hudson Ylva Publishing
Love on the Red Rocks Lisa Moreu Bold Strokes Books
Salvation on Mission Street Cathy Arellano Korima Press

Dramatic/General Fiction
Title Author Publisher
The Big Sugarbush Ana B Good Hot Pants Press, LLC
The Urn Carrier Chris Convissor Bedazzled Ink Publishing, LLC
Trial by Fury KG MacGregor Bella Books

Title Author Publisher
Best Lesbian Erotica of the Year, Vol. 1 D.L. King (ed.) Cleis Press
Give Me Thorns Elizabeth Andre Tulabella Ruby Press
The Club A.L. Brooks Ylva Publishing

Historical Fiction
Title Author Publisher
Dian's Ghost Justine Saracen Bold Strokes Books
Loving Eleanor Susan Wittig Albert Persevero Press
Shaken to the Core Jae Ylva Publishing

Title Author Publisher
Requiem for Immortals Lee Winter Ylva Publishing
Trigger Jessica L. Webb Bold Strokes Books
Walk-in T.L. Hart Bella Books

Title Author Publisher
1140 Rue Royale Karen D. Badger Badger Bliss Books
By the Dark of Her Eyes Cameron MacElvee Bold Strokes Books
The House at the End of the Street Stephanie E. Kusiak Sapphire Books Publishing

Title Author Publisher
Acquired Community Jane Byers Dagger Editions
In and Out of Love Shelley Thrasher Sapphire Books Publishing
Torn from the Ear of Night Jimmie Margaret Gilliam White Pine Press

Romantic Suspense/Intrigue/Adventure
Title Author Publisher
Final Cut Lynn Ames Phoenix Rising Press
The Copper Egg Catherine Friend Bold Strokes Books
The Fifth Gospel Michelle Grubb Bold Strokes Books

Science Fiction/Fantasy
Title Author Publisher
Paradox Valley Gerri Hill Bella Books
The Beast That Never Was Caren J. Werlinger Corgyn Publishing, LLC
The Broken Coil Sy Itha Desert Palm Press

Tee Corinne Outstanding Cover Design
Title Artist Publisher
Heartscapes Sheri Bold Strokes Books

Traditional Contemporary Romance
Title Author Publisher
Chef's Special Susan X Meagher Brisk Press
Perfect Pairing Rachel Spangler Bywater Books
The Color of Love Radclyffe Bold Strokes Books

Young Adult
Title Author Publisher
Gravity Juliann Rich Bold Strokes Books
Here's the Thing Emily O'Beirne Ylva Publishing
My Year Zero Rachel Gold Bella Books

Directors’ Award
Ann McMan

Lee Lynch Classic Award
Title Author Publisher
Heather Has Two Mommies Lesléa Newman In Other Words

Trailblazer Award
Lillian Faderman

2017 Goldie Winners

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal